Networking

January 24, 2011 at 8:49 pm Leave a comment

Today I realized the importance of networking. Well, realize may have been the wrong word to use; I’m giving myself too much credit. I was taught the importance of social networking. Gary Robinov, a New Media/Graphic Design MECA alumni is one of the professors of my Junior Seminar class: “Your Presence Online”. (The other is Sean Wilkinson another MECA alumni of 2001.) I’m so excited for this class. We’ve had one class so far – and a shortened introductory one at that! In the hour and a half that we managed to fill with content, Gary stressed how important it is to have an online presence…and that’s what this class is! A giant semester-long class in which we will work purely on establishing our names online. We will even be creating our own portfolio sites. I’m excited about “the list” that will be passed along: a giant list of online sites that’s crucial to be a part of if you’re trying to get your name out there. A few of the obvious (facebook, twitter, wordpress) are a given. Now starts the homework – time to start putting my name out there! This is the real world and as long as my name isn’t spoken, I’m an artist without a cause.

Entry filed under: Reflections. Tags: , , , .

Boarding Passes

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2011
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

