Life in the “Big City”

April 6, 2011 at 8:30 am Leave a comment

My philosophy professor – Dana Sawyer – always asks his students at the beginning of each class: “How’s life in the big city?” Big city? Portland? Surely Boston, New York, Miami, Los Angeles, and hundreds of other cities are much bigger.

No, I understand it now. Portland is big. Portland is full of opportunities. Portland is wonderful. As springtime slowly eases its way into this coastal city, I see the changing of the season as a turning point for Portland as well. Men’s Health named Portland, ME the 17th most socially networked state. As time passes, the networking in Portland only increases, especially with a new wave of graphic designers, photographers, illustrators, and web designers move into their senior year at MECA. My Junior Seminar class focused specifically on networking – whether that online presence sticks to an audience of Portland or gravitates elsewhere is up to us.

I’m excited to work more on my web portfolio this summer and take on more freelance projects. I have a few lined up at the moment and as the projects move to completion, I’ll be putting those up for show! I have a lot of this semester’s work that I’ll be photographing in the weeks to come. Stay tuned! I also have a nonprofit online news organization project set to launch on April 15th. There will be more news on this to come as well!

Entry filed under: Reflections.

Advanced Typography – Magazine Spread

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

